ПЕКИНЕС форум. PEKINGESE FORUM.: Первый «русский» Пекинес - ПЕКИНЕС форум. PEKINGESE FORUM.

Перейти к содержимому

Страница 1 из 1
  • Вы не можете создать новую тему
  • Вы не можете ответить в тему

Первый «русский» Пекинес

#1 Пользователь офлайн   Philippe 

• Класс Бэби
  • Pip
  • Статус (Status):Любитель собак
  • Количество пекинесов (Quantity of Pekineses):0

Отправлено 23 октября 2022 - 22:09

Hello from France to Russia,

I am an amateur cynologist. Asia is my main field of investigation. I am trying to learn if Count Nikolai Pavlovich Ignatieff (1832-1908) was the owner of Pekingese dogs or not.
It is commonly admitted that only five specimens of this breed were discovered in the Yuan-ming-yuan (Summer palace near Peking) in October 1860. They would have been found near the dead body of a suicided old aunt of the Emperor Xianfeng. That's the story told later by Admiral of the Fleet Lord John Hay. You can read it in every article, book or website dedicated to Pekes even if it is a tale that doesn't resist to facts.

Nikolay Pavlovich Ignatieff played an important diplomatic role at the end of the Second opium war. He was present in Peking since 1859 and had the confidence of the Chinese Imperial court. So he had all the chances to be offered Imperial lap dogs.
Googling "Николай Павлович Игнатьев" and "Пекинес" I found a novel called Keys to Istanbul written by Oleg Gennadievich Ignatiev and published in 2018. The author, maybe a descendant of Nikolai Pavlovich Ignatieff, describes the death of his first son (06/07/1864-01-14-1865) and mentions the presence of a Pekingese dog at this occasion:

— Все кончено, — убито прошептала Екатерина Леонидовна и повалилась на постель. — Я не переживу.
Николай Павлович сам уронил голову в ладони, не зная, как ободрить беременную вторым ребенком жену и где найти силы для собственного утешения.